A Lake Charles man gets a third DWI after crashing into a local business. It was around 5:30 am when his Ford F-150 drove off of LA 385 and into a building. When police arrived on the scene, they arrested the 26-year-old driver and administered a breath test. The man’s blood alcohol level registered two and a half times the legal limit.
Thankfully, the store was not open at the time of the time of the crash, so no one was injured. However, the driver has been charged with careless operation, driving with a suspended driver’s license, having an open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle, and a third offense DWI. He faces the potential of years in jail.
What Is The Penalty For A DWI?
In Louisiana, your third DUI/DWI can result in up to five years in jail, a $2000 fine, the two-year suspension of your license and the installation of an interlock device on your next vehicle. If you somehow manage to get a 4th violation, you could go to jail for up to 30 years, and if someone is killed in the accident, you could face a $15,000 fine in addition to a possible 30 year jail sentence.
How Often Do Drunk Driving Accidents Happen?
The driver in this accident was fortunate that he did not hurt anybody when he crashed, but not all drunk driving incidents end so well. Out of all the fatal auto accidents Troop D of the Louisiana State Police responded to in 2013, 63 percent of those accidents involved an intoxicated driver. The lawyers of Galloway Jefcoat want to remind you to stay safe out on our Louisiana roads. Don’t drink and drive, and watch out for anybody driving erratically, but if you or a loved one are injured or killed in a drunk driving incident, don’t hesitate to call us.
Galloway Jefcoat LLP—Personal Injury Attorneys in Lafayette, LA