Tag Archives: #DrinkingAndDriving

What Are My Options after Losing a Loved One to a Drunk Driver?

In late July, a woman was killed while riding her bicycle in Acadia Parish. On the 23rd around 9:00 p.m. on Quarter Pole Road east of Rayne, a 41-year-old man struck the 61-year-old cyclist and fled the scene of the accident. Not far from where the accident occurred, the driver of the car abandoned his vehicle and fled the area. The victim was pronounced dead at the scene. During the investigation, police were able to locate the driver and arrest him. After his arrest, he became uncooperative when asked to take a blood test, so police secured a warrant. According to police, he had multiple issues in his past regarding driving while intoxicated. Prior to this fatal hit-and-run, he was charged with DWI on five separate occasions and was under suspension due to a previous DWI. What Are My Options If I Lose a Loved One to a Drunk Driver?…
Read More »

Posted in Car Accidents | Tagged | Leave a comment

Police Urge Drivers to Remember Move Over Law

Louisiana State Police are reminding drivers about the “Move Over” law after a Sheriff’s deputy was struck by a drunk driver in early July of this year. The deputy was assisting a driver who was injured in a hit-and-run accident. He stopped on the side of the road to investigate the accident, leaving his lights on to warn oncoming motorists. When he returned to his vehicle to get a first aid kit, the drunk driver struck the deputy and then crashed into the car ahead of him. The driver involved in the first accident was hospitalized with minor injuries. The deputy was airlifted to a hospital with moderate injuries. The at-fault driver was arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated, first-degree vehicular negligent injury and careless operation. What Is the Move Over Law? In Louisiana, motorists are required to yield the right of way by making a lane change if…
Read More »

Posted in Car Accidents | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Will Ridesharing Laws Help Prevent Drunk Driving in Louisiana?

US News and World Report featured a report regarding lawmakers in Louisiana moving forward with legislation that would force ridesharing services, such as Uber and Lyft, to follow state regulations. It is reportedly a step towards making ridesharing more accessible statewide, which many believe could help prevent drunk driving in Louisiana. What Types of Regulations Would Uber and Lyft Face in Louisiana? Basically, this bill would enable Uber and Lyft to expand into smaller cities throughout the state more quickly, because as it stands now, the ridesharing companies must negotiate agreements with each municipality individually. In addition, the regulations would require Uber and Lyft drivers to get permits and undergo background checks. This aspect of the bill has seen some controversy, because under the proposed law, the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry would manage the background checks and permits. The Public Service Commission has objected to this part of…
Read More »

Posted in Car Accidents | Tagged , , | Leave a comment