On June 25th a 49-year-old man from Lafayette allegedly struck another vehicle while driving on Ambassador Caffery Parkway. The drivers of both vehicles were taken to a nearby hospital with moderate injuries, but a passenger in the vehicle that was hit sustained serious injuries and was taken to the hospital in critical condition.
Officers on the scene determined that the Lafayette man was driving while under the influence. He is now being charged with negligent injury, reckless operation of a vehicle, failure to obey a traffic signal, open container, no seatbelt, no registration, and a third offense OWI.
What Happens To Drunk Drivers After An Accident?
Fortunately, no one was killed in this accident, but the officials of the state of Louisiana aren’t taking any chances. The first time a driver is caught drinking and driving, they face the possibility of up to six months’ jail time and a fine that could reach $1,000. The second offense results in a mandatory 48 hours in jail with a possible six extra months of jail time and the $1,000 fine. If a driver manages to offend three times, they must spend 30 days in jail, could also receive up to six months in prison, and they could be fined up to $2,000.
The state of Louisiana doesn’t tolerate drinking and driving, and neither should you. Drunk drivers can be held liable for the damages and suffering they cause their victims, whether they are criminally convicted or not. See our drunk driving accident page for more information, and keep following our blog, Facebook, and Twitter pages for more information about your rights.
Galloway Jefcoat LLP—Personal Injury Attorneys in Lafayette, LA