What is the Child Safety Seat Law for Louisiana?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates that child safety seats reduce the risk of fatal injuries among infants by as much as 71 percent and to toddlers by 54 percent. Additionally, the CDC reports that older children between the ages of four and eight reduce their risk of an injury by 45 percent when using a booster seat, as opposed to using only a seat belt.

Sadly, hundreds of children are killed each year in auto accidents and hundreds of thousands are injured. Louisiana aims to prevent fatalities and injuries with protective child safety seat laws.

Child Safety Seat Law for Louisiana

Louisiana, just like the other 49 states, requires child safety seats for infants and young children. The following are the requirements under Louisiana law:

  • Infants one year old or younger who weigh less than 20 pounds must use a rear-facing infant seat or a convertible seat.
  • Children aged one to four years old and weighing between 20 and 40 pounds must use a forward facing seat, convertible or combination seat equipped with an internal harness.
  • Older children who have reached the age of four to six years old and weighing between 40 to 60 pounds must use a belt-positioning booster seat.
  • A child that is over six years old and weighs more than 60 pounds should must use a lap-shoulder belt or a belt-positioning booster seat.

Violations of this law can result in tickets and fines, which can increase for repeated violations. The first offense carries a maximum fine of $100. Additionally, Louisiana is one of just six states that requires seat belts for school buses.

Was Your Child Injured in a Lafayette, Louisiana Car Accident?

The death or severe injury of a child can be life altering for an entire family. If someone else is at fault for the wrongful death or catastrophic injury of your son or daughter, then you have the right to file a lawsuit.

Our Lafayette-based law firm has dedicate our lives to defending the rights of children and adults injured by another driver’s negligence. Check us out on Facebook and Twitter to see the ways that we help others. Additionally, regularly check out our law blog for updates and information regarding laws and personal injuries in the state of Louisiana.

[Did You Know? It has been suggested that low income families are less likely to employ child safety seats due to their high cost.]

Galloway Jefcoat LLP – Personal Injury Attorneys



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *